GEORGIA

CBD Oil Only (2015)

Current Status

In 2015, the Georgia legislature passed HB 1, (Haleigh’s Hope Act) which created a patient ID card registry and established a list of eight qualifying conditions so that patients may legally possess and use low-THC medical cannabis products. The law places a 5% cap on THC and requires that products have at least 1:1 ratio of CBD to THC. The law does not allow for in-state production or access, but did create the Georgia Medical Cannabis Commission, which was tasked with investigating other state programs in order to come up with a legislative proposal.

In December 2015, the Commission voted against in state production of medical cannabis.


Medical Marijuana

Eligible patients may possess up to 20 ounces of low-THC (high-CBD) cannabis oil; possession of the whole plant is not allowed, nor is cultivation. Although low-THC cannabis oil is legal in the state, it is not clear how it should be obtained.

Cannabis Possession Limit:
This is still illegal outside of high CBD extracts
1 oz or less: misdemeanor, 1 yr. or $1,000 fine; more than 1 oz (but less than 10 lbs.): felony, 1-10 yrs.; over 10 lbs. is considered trafficking

Cultivation

Manufacturing/Processing

Testing

Distribution/Dispensaries

This is still illegal outside of high CBD extracts
According to the law, the Sale/Trafficking of cannabis is a felony. For 10 lbs or less: 1-10 yrs; 10-2000 lbs.: 5 yrs. and mandatory $100,000; 2000-10,000 lbs.: 7 yrs. and mandatory $250,000; Over 10,000 lbs.: 15 yrs. and mandatory $1,000,000

Georgia has allowed CBD Oil Only since 2015

Important Cannabis Laws

House Bill 1, HB 1 Haleigh’s Hope Act (2015) : allows for eligible patients to possess and take cannabis oil with a low percentage of THC. NorRegulations have  yet been published in Georgia.

RSS Feed