MAINE

Medical (1999)
Decriminalized (2016)
Recreational (2016)

Current Status

As of right now, the state has yet to establish an application process. They are mandated to start accepting applications after ten (10) months. Also, under the new law, first priority for licensure are given to registered caregivers and experienced principal officers or board members of a medical marijuana dispensary who have been registered with the state pursuant to the Maine Medical Marijuana Use Act.

In 1998, voters enacted the Maine Medical Marijuana Act to protect patients who use cannabis medically on the advice of their doctor. Patients or their primary physicians could possess a maximum of 1 1⁄4 ounces (35 g) of usable cannabis and a maximum of 6 plants. The Maine legislature approved SB 611 in 2002, which increased the medical cannabis possession limit for those who could legally acquire medicine under the 1998 act.


Medical Marijuana

Cannabis Possession Limit:
Qualified medical patients may possess a sufficient 30-day supply of marijuana for medical use.

Registered patients (21 years +) or their designated caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis and cultivate up to six mature plants.

Patients who are not registered with the Maine Medical Marijuana Program (voluntary) must have their original physician certification form and either a Maine driver license or other Maine-issued photo ID and present both to law enforcement on request.

Caregivers are required to register with the MMMP unless the caregiver and patient are members of the same household. Caregivers may not have a criminal conviction and are subject to a background check. In addition, a caregiver may not have more than 5 patients.

If a patient or caregiver is found in possession of more than the limit set by law, the excess cannabis must be forfeit to law enforcement, but the patient or caregiver may present the medical purpose of the cannabis as a legal defense if charged.

Minor patients must have their parent or legal custodian/guardian apply as caregiver on their behalf.

Read more: Maine’s Medical Marijuana Law

Cultivation

Cannabis Grow Limit:
An individual is allowed to have six mature plants, 12 immature plants and an unlimited number of seedlings at any given time. You can’t grow it where it is visible to others and must prevent access by anyone under 21. Each plant has to be labeled with a tag that includes your name and your Maine driver’s license or identification number.

Manufacturing/Processing

Testing

In 2016, LD 726 was passed, authorizing third party testing labs.
Guidance for State Medical Cannabis Testing Programs

Distribution/Dispensaries

On January 27, 2017 the legislature approved a moratorium on implementing parts of the law regarding retail sales and taxation until at least February 2018, giving time to resolve issues and promulgate rules.
It will probably be at least February 2018 until its open to the public

Retail Social Club

Main has something new; Retail marijuana social clubs. “Retail marijuana social club” means an entity licensed to sell retail marijuana and retail marijuana products to consumers for consumption on the licensed premises. (Maine Marijuana Legalization Act)
It will probably be at least February 2018 until its open to the public

Maine became the 5th state to legalize medical marijuana on November 2, 1999

Important Cannabis Laws

Maine Medical Marijuana Act (1998) : protects patients who use cannabis medically on the advice of their doctor.

SB 611 (2002) – increased the medical cannabis possession limit for those who could legally acquire medicine under the 1998 act.

SB 62 (2011) : increased the medical cannabis possession limit for those who could legally acquire medicine under the 1998 act.

Initiative Question 5 (2009) : added several qualifying conditions and created both a statewide distribution program and a statewide patient registry system. The legislature amended the law in 2012 to provide better patient privacy.

HP755/LD1062 (2013) : added Post Traumatic Stress Disorder to the list of official qualifying conditions.

LD 726 (2016) : authorizes third party testing labs.

Question 1 / IB 2015, c. 5 / An Act to Legalize Marijuana (2016) : legalizes the recreational use, retail sale, and taxation of cannabis.

MMMP Rules (Last revised September 17, 2013

RSS Feed