NEW HAMPSHIRE

Medical (2013)

Current Status

In 2013, HB 573, called Use of Cannabis for Therapeutic Purposes, finally passed, after similar bills had been vetoed twice before.


Medical Marijuana

In November 2015, DHHS began issuing ID cards and licensing businesses.

Cannabis Grow Limit:
Home cultivation is not permitted.

Cannabis Possession Limit:
A qualified patient is not permitted to purchase more than 2 ounces during a 10-day period, and is not permitted to be in possession of more than 2 ounces of cannabis at any given time. If you have a designated caregiver, you and your designated caregiver combined cannot have more than 2 ounces of cannabis at any given time. Patients and caregivers may not be denied any right or privilege based on their status.

Patients and caregivers registered with the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services’ (DHHS) medical cannabis program, in possession of a registry ID card, and possess no more than two ounces of cannabis are protected from arrest or prosecution. If charged, registration provides an affirmative defense for patients or caregivers in compliance with the law.

A patient may designate only one caregiver, but a caregiver may assist up to five patients. Caregivers are limited to transporting medicine from licensed centers and assisting with administration.

Cultivation

Personal cultivation of cannabis is prohibited. Medicine must be obtained by the patient or registered caregiver from one of four “Alternative Treatment Centers” to be licensed by the state.

Manufacturing/Processing

Medical Only; at one of the 4 state run “Alternative Treatment Centers”

Testing

Medical Only; at one of the 4 state run “Alternative Treatment Centers”

Distribution/Dispensaries

Medical Only; at one of the 4 state run “Alternative Treatment Centers”
In 2016, the first dispensaries began serving medical cannabis patients.

New Hampshire was the 19th state to legalize medical marijuana on July 23, 2013.

Important Cannabis Laws

HB 573 (2013) : Patients and caregivers registered with the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services’ (DHHS) medical cannabis program with a 2 ounce possession limit protected (every 10 days). Personal cultivation of cannabis is prohibited. A patient may designate only one caregiver, but a caregiver may assist up to five patients.

RSS Feed