RHODE ISLAND

Medical (2006)

Current Status


Medical Marijuana

Patients with a Rhode Island registry ID card may use, possess, and cultivate cannabis for medical purposes. Patients may also appoint up to two primary caregivers for assistance or designate a compassion center as one of the caregivers. The Rhode Island Department of Health will verify patient and caregiver registry ID numbers as valid for law enforcement. Qualified patients and caregivers are entitled to an affirmative defense at trial or dismissal of charges upon demonstrating that they were in compliance. Any property seized in connection with qualified medical use of cannabis is to be returned.

Patients can possess a maximum of 2.5 ounces of cannabis and a maximum of 12 cannabis plants.

Patient Registry or ID Cards Program?
State of Rhode Island Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program

Cannabis Grow Limit:
A cardholder shall be allowed to possess a reasonable amount of unusable marijuana, including up to twelve (12) seedlings, that shall not be counted towards the limits of this section.

Cannabis Possession Limit:
A patient cardholder who has in his or her possession a registry identification card shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty for the medical use of marijuana, provided that the patient cardholder possesses an amount of marijuana that does not exceed twelve (12) mature marijuana plants and two and one-half (2.5) ounces of usable marijuana. Said plants shall be stored in an indoor facility.
A primary caregiver cardholder, who has in his or her possession, a registry identification card, shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty for assisting a patient cardholder, to whom he or she is connected through the department’s registration process, with the medical use of marijuana; provided that the primary caregiver cardholder possesses an amount of marijuana that does not exceed twelve (12) mature marijuana plants and two and one-half (2.5) ounces of usable marijuana for each patient cardholder to whom he or she is connected through the department’s registration process.

Cultivation

Under the emergency regulations, enacted as of October 25, 2016, Rhode Island will be accepting applications for Medical Marijuana Cultivation businesses until April 30, 2017.

The Department of Business Regulations (DBR) will be responsible for licensing would be entrepreneurs.

There will be a $5,000 non-refundable fee at the time of application. Then, the initial license fee ranges from $20,000 to $80,000 depending on the class of license issued.

License Class Annual License Fee
Class A $20,000.00
Class B $35,000.00
Class C $50,000.00
Class D $80,000.00

Manufacturing/Processing

Testing

Distribution/Dispensaries

Under the new law, one marijuana dispensaries will be authorized to open in 2010, to be followed by two more in 2011.

As of 2016, there were 3 marijuana dispensaries in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island was the 11th state to approve medical marijuana on January 3, 2006.

Important Cannabis Laws

RSS Feed