In 2016, Measure 5 passed, which allowed for a comprehensive medical cannabis program for medical marijuana patients.
North Dakota has some of the harshest marijuana laws in the country. First offense possession of even a single joint is punishable by up to a year in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
There is a pilot hemp program in North Dakota. Read more here
Cannabis Grow Limit:
If a qualified patients resides 40 miles or more away from an operating dispensary, the patient is permitted to cultivate up to eight (8) plants.
Cannabis Possession Limit:
Patients are permitted to possess up to three (3) ounces of usable cannabis.
North Dakota was the 28th state to legalize medical marijuana on November 8, 2016.
Important Cannabis Laws
North Dakota Medical Marijuana Legalization, Measure 5 (2016) : creates a comprehensive medical cannabis program for the patients of the state. The program creates access for patients at retail dispensaries, but would also allow patients to grow up to 8 plants if they live 40 or more miles away from the nearest dispensary. The program will one of the strictest in the nation in that it would allow the ND Department of Health to conduct in-person patient interviews in order to determine eligibility.